top of page
  • Carol McTier

Let's pick a posy!


During the summer months last year, my flower sales at the Farmer’s Market really took off. My husband was amazed at the number of flowers we were selling at market. I love planting flowers everywhere on the farm – in the beds by the porch, in containers around the yard, in my large raised beds out in the yard, and throughout the garden as well. Of course, I justified the flowers in the garden by explaining the benefits of companion planting to my husband. He rolled his eyes and agreed and then ate a little crow when other farmers he spoke with confirmed the benefits of companion planting. We, of course, received multiple benefits because I also had the pleasure of seeing the blooms all around the farm as well as harvesting some to sell at market. I loved having the graceful stalks of blue borage with their chunky bases of thick leaves throughout my tomatoes. Borage is a great deterrent for tomato worms. My go-to every year in and around the vegetables is marigolds – they repel tons of critters. Not the most pleasing of smells, but bright happy colors. I love nasturtiums and their cheery trumpets too! They ward off squash bugs and beetles – major predators in our garden. Then I plant rows of assorted faces of sunflowers and zinnias to encourage our resident bees to pollinate, pollinate, pollinate! Recent research has shown that lavender discourages deer grazing so this year we will be planting a ring of lavender around everything!!! Then, while those lovely blooms cheer my heart, I can slip in and cut stems for my market bouquets. Total win / win situation in my opinion. So, looking forward to spring and summer with those colorful blooming faces……here we grow again!

Setup for the Saturday market we attend!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page